7 Books by Local Authors to Read this Summer

These recent releases all have ties to the Main Line and surrounds.



The Main Line and its surrounding areas are a hot bed for some of the most talented, captivating authors. These seven books were all written by local authors and are perfect for vacation and weekend reads alike.

After Anna by Lisa Scottoline

 

A post shared by Lisa Scottoline (@lisascottoline) on

Philadelphia resident Lisa Scottoline thrills readers once again with her latest novel, After Anna. Closely following a reunion between Anna Alderman and estranged mother Maggie Ippolitti, authorities accuse stepfather Noah Alderman of murdering Anna. Meanwhile, Maggie is left to deal with both the loss of a daughter and the terror that her husband could be the culprit. Readers follow this grieving mother along her journey as she navigates the truths of her daughter’s death.

Circe by Madeline Miller

In the few months that Narberth native Madeline Miller’s novel, Circe (Little, Brown and Company, 400 pages), has been on shelves, it’s skyrocketed a number one New York Times Bestseller. Circe adopts the female perspective of its namesake character, who learns that she was born with the power of witchcraft and is cast out to an island as a result. In the book, Circe conjures mythological figures and sets out to fight back against a powerful Olympian god, all while agonizing over choosing a godly or mortal existence. 

The Favorite Sister by Jessica Knoll

 

A post shared by Jessica Knoll (@jessicaknollauthor) on

Jessica Knoll was a breakout sensation when her debut novel, Luckiest Girl Alive dropped in 2016. Since, the Shipley School grad has been busy writing her second novel, Goal Diggers (Simon and Schuster, 368 pages), which depicts a new reality TV show that brings out the worst in its five female contestants. By the end of the show, someone is even murdered. This witty page-turner—perfect for fans of The Real Housewives and UnReal—propels readers into questioning what drives animosity, while indulging our love of reality television.  

The Glitch by Elisabeth Cohen

 

A post shared by Elisabeth Cohen (@cohen_elisabeth) on

Elisabeth Cohen, who resides in Bala Cynwyd, introduced archetypal Shelley Stone to readers this May in her book, The Glitch (Doubleday, 368 pages). Stone is the picture of the 21st century high-power woman. Rarely pausing to take a breath, Stone lives with a completely packed schedule and fills the roles of CEO, mother, wife, and unapologetic feminist simultaneously. But upon meeting a woman also named Shelley Stone, with a scar identical to her own, she becomes concerned for her sanity.

The Husband Hour by Jamie Brenner

 

A post shared by Jamie Brenner (@jamiebrennerauthor) on

A graduate of Lower Merion High School and a Wynnewood native, Jamie Brenner delivers another captivating summer novel in The Husband Hour (Little, Brown and Company, 368 pages). Protagonist Lauren Adelman’s enviable life falls apart when her husband, Rory Kincaid, unexpectedly enlists in the army, where he eventually dies. In her time of grief, the protagonist relocates to a family beach house in New Jersey, living with her mother and sister. Soon, a man named Matt Brio asks Lauren to spend an hour with him to aid in his creation of a documentary about Rory, and her life course changes abruptly. Perfect for devouring by the pool, shore-goers are sure to find some familiar sights.

If We Had Known by Elise Juska

Currently living in Philadelphia and serving as director of the creative writing program at the University of the Arts, Elise Juska’s novel, If We Had Known (Grand Central Publishing, 320 pages), sparks thoughts about our contemporary cultural and gun violence. Two of the most significant events of main character Maggie Daley’s life occur back-to-back. First, she is getting ready to send her daughter, Anna, off to college. Then, she hears the news that her former student, Nathan Dugan, committed a mass mall shooting—and that maybe she should have seen the signs earlier.


Related: Radnor Native Kelly Corrigan Releases Fourth Book


Tell Me More by Kelly Corrigan

In her fourth book, Radnor High School graduate Kelly Corrigan shares parenting advice with classic wisdom and distinct honesty. In Tell me More (Random House, 240 pages), Corrigan outlines “the 12 hardest things I’m learning to say.” Her insights illuminate the challenges and joys of motherhood. Readers will take refuge in the comfort of Corrigan’s experiences and the advice they bring forth. 

Edit ModuleShow Tags